WWI @ AQ

WWI @ AQ header image 1
November 30, 2018  

Introduction of Plastic Surgery The Introduction to the Plastic Surgery Movement

Source: https://www.nam.ac.uk/explore/birth-plastic-surgery

November 24, 2018  

Conscientious Objectors in World War I

Sources

Anthony, Richards. (2014). The Conscientious Objectors Paid a High Price. The Telegram.Retrieved from https://www.telegraph.co.uk/history/world-war-one/inside-first-world-war/part-nine/10803538/conscientious-objectors-first-world-war.html.

Conscientious Objector. Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved from https://www.britannica.com/topic/conscientious-objector.

Schleif, Luke. (2014). Conscientious Objectors. International Encyclopedia of the First World War. Retrieved from https://encyclopedia.1914-1918-online.net/article/conscientious_objectors.

Yoder, Anne (N.D.). Conscientious Objection During World War I. Retrieved from  https://wwionline.org/articles/conscientious-objection-during-world-war-i/

Image result for conscious objector propaganda

Image result for conscious objector propaganda

November 19, 2018  

The Harlem Hell Fighters

Here we have a video "podcast" about the 369th US Infantry Regiment or, as they are better known, the Harlem Hellfighters.  Enjoy!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ttuRNxW6CZjomyXj2DtOOlbPlSltaW5E/view?usp=sharing

 missedinhistory-98-2015-10-harlem-hellfighters-post-600x350.jpg

The Harlem Hellfighters, from https://www.missedinhistory.com/blogs/missed-in-history-the-harlem-hellfighters.htm

Sources:

History, Simple, director. Harlem Hellfighters (World War 1). YouTube, YouTube, 27 Mar. 2017, www.youtube.com/watch?v=7A8eWsFXH5g&t=9s.

Trickey, Erick. “One Hundred Years Ago, the Harlem Hellfighters Bravely Led the U.S. Into WWI.” Smithsonian.com, Smithsonian Institution, 14 May 2018, www.smithsonianmag.com/history/one-hundred-years-ago-harlem-hellfighters-bravely-led-us-wwi-180968977/.

Mikkelsen, Edward. Boley, Oklahoma (1903- ) | The Black Past: Remembered and Reclaimed, 2017, blackpast.org/aah/369th-infantry-regiment-harlem-hellfighters.

November 13, 2018  

Christmas Truce 1914

Image result for 1914 christmas truce

 

https://www.iwm.org.uk/history/the-real-story-of-the-christmas-truce
https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/the-story-of-the-wwi-christmas-truce-11972213/

https://www.britannica.com/event/The-Christmas-Truce

November 9, 2018  

Easter Rising 1916

Image result for easter rising

https://www.irishcentral.com/uploads/article/2387/cropped_MI-GPO-ruins-1916-Easter-Rising.jpg?t=1522413606

"Easter Rising 1916 Ireland." Easter Rising 1916 Ireland. Accessed November 09, 2018. http://www.easter1916.net/.

"What Was the Easter Rising?" RTE.ie. Accessed November 09, 2018. https://www.rte.ie/centuryireland/index.php/articles/what-was-the-easter-rising.

Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Easter Rising." Encyclopædia Britannica. October 11, 2018. Accessed November 09, 2018. https://www.britannica.com/event/Easter-Rising.

November 6, 2018  

British War Propaganda

 Image result for lord kitchener poster

 

Sources

Welch, David. Depicting the enemy. British Library, 2014. https://www.bl.uk/world-war-one/articles/depicting-the-enemy.
Fox, Jo. Atrocity Propaganda. British Library, 2014. https://www.bl.uk/world-war-one/articles/atrocity-propaganda
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/pathways/firstworldwar/britain/espionage.htm
The National Archives. Propaganda 1914-1918. http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/education/britain1906to1918/g6/background.htm

 

Play this podcast on Podbean App